My Life

Quality Over Quantity

One of the hardest, yet most rewarding experiences I have gone through in my twenty years of life is forming authentic, real, and genuine friendships.

It is not something that happens overnight. It is not something you can go looking for. It one of those things that happen when you stay true to who you are and share with the world around you all the good (and bad) you have to offer.

It really is just a feeling that arises when you connect and develop a strong relationship with a select few people in your life.  It is hard for me to put into words, but I can compare it to the feeling a person gets when they bite into a fresh, warm, soft chocolate chip cookie. It is pure delight that you want to savor.

Many people come and go throughout life, and that is totally okay! Sometimes it is on bad terms and other times not; regardless of the reason not everyone you meet is meant to be your best friend, lifelong soul mate, and even an everyday acquaintance.

For YEARS, and I mean YEARS I used to get so caught up in wanting to have “lots of friends.” I wanted to please everyone I met and I wanted to make sure everyone liked me. It used to stress me out if I didn’t have enough time to hang out with the numbers and numbers of people I really wanted to be friends with. I was constantly overwhelmed and caught up in all the wrong things; I thought quantity was more important than quality.

Reflecting, I now realize how unhappy I was. What the hell was I thinking?! I wasted so much time and energy to please people who I wasn’t important too and they weren’t important to me.

I am NOT writing to bash the people in my past I’ve had fun times and good memories with. Those relationships and friendships are a part of growing up and learning about yourself. But I am here to THANK those who have shown me what it is like to have a true, loving, and supportive friend.

For the first time, I feel like I am doing friendship right.

I don’t even need to see these people everyday. I don’t need to speak to them even weekly. These people are the ones I can go weeks or months without interaction with. We understand and respect our different schedules, responsibilities, and time.

At the end of the day, I  never question whether I trust them or not. I always know that these people are going to be there for me through thick and thin.

These are the people who I can call in any situation. These are the people who support me in my aspirations and push me to be my best. These are the people I want to surprise and show compassion for. These are the people that I can sit in silence with and still appreciate our time together. These are people that I have had the best conversations, memories, and experiences with.

When you find that good, lifelong friend, you’ll know it in your heart. You’ll feel it every time you interact (like phone call, text, dinner, anything). You’ll laugh, cry, and yell together. No matter what obstacles each of you go through during life, in the end you’ll still love and care for each other.

I really feel that each one of us get so caught up in life that we forget to thank the ones we appreciate so dearly.

So, to my quality “people”, thank you. Thank you for being you, the you that I love. You are truly amazing and beautiful people that are a blessing in my life.

-Kasey Elizabeth

